sexyflirtyandfit

Birth Control Pills and Weight Loss (Help or Hurting?)

Posted on: June 30, 2011

This subject is what many women think about when making the discussion to go on birth control or maintain it. Will it make you gain weight? Well, I have searched around the internet including WebMD and The Mayo Clinic, and they both say it’s a myth. They chalk it up to women just aren’t watching their weight like they should and that’s why you are gaining weight or having trouble losing it. I don’t quite believe this logic.

 
When I was in college, I was using the Patch as my method of birth control. I was on it for about a year, and during that year, I was trying to lose the few pounds I gain over freshmen year. I consulted with a nutritionist to set my caloric and nutritional goals and started working out five times a week for minimum of an hour each time. I combined strength and cardio in each of my routines. I ate a healthy diet full of protein, veggies, fruits, whole grains, and good fats. When I saw the weight was not coming off, I bump up my workouts to 90 minutes in length. Still nothing. I became very frustrated. I talked to my doctor about it and she says she could not explain why I was having such trouble losing weight. She did routine blood work on me and everything came up fine.

 
I took matters into my own hands and decided to take a break from the Patch. Within a week of doing so, I dropped 10 pounds! Now it seems I am having similar problems again. I was at a lower weight last year while on my current birth control, Loestrin, but like I stated in previous post, I had a serious eating disorder. I only consumed max 600 calories a day so I would be at a lower weight. Sometimes I went up to 1100 calories but only after over exercising. Now that I am working with my support team to get my weight and health on track, my weight has gone up some, but to be expecting in the first few months. Now that I am eating a very healthy diet, no fast food, 5 servings fruit and veggies, lean protein, cook all my food myself, and working out 5 to 6 days a week doing Jillian Michaels’ 30 Day Shred and Ripped in 30 minimum of 60 minutes a day, my weight is at a standstill. Had blood work done again, and still normal. My fitness level is higher than ever. Running six miles without stopping at 10 minutes and 30 second miles. My body has shaped up, my stomach is flatter, and my upper body is stronger than it has been. I don’t know. I do not want to place blame on my birth control, but since it has happen to me before, I don’t know. Check out these clips I found online and form your own opinion.

 

http://www.womenshealthmag.com/weight-loss/birth-control-and-weight-gain

http://www.webmd.com/community/women-9/pill-weight-gain

Leave a Reply

